Secondary School

Key Stage 3, 4 and 5 (Year 7 to Year 13)

Years 7 to 9, known as Key Stage 3, follows the National Curriculum for England and includes the subjects:

  • English
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Humanities
  • Sciences
  • Computer Sciences
  • A selection of second languages
  • Art and Design
  • Physical Education
  • Personal, Social and Health Education

In Key Stage 4 and 5 (Year 10 to Year 13), the IGCSE curriculum is introduced. A range of subjects, catering for a variety of academic needs and interest, are offered. 

Compulsory Subjects

  • Arabic
  • Islamic Studies
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Physical Education

Optional Subjects

  • ICT
  • French
  • Biology
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • History
  • Geography
  • Business Studies
  • Accounts
  • Economics
  • Art
  • Drama
  • Media Studies
  • Travel and Tourism and
  • Environmental Management

Key leadership qualities are very important in these senior years. Students in these classes will be challenged to accept and develop responsibilities as leaders and citizens of the world.

Head of Secondary School

David Craggs
As Vice Principal and Head of Secondary at GEMS Cambridge International School – Abu Dhabi I have worked for GEMS for 3 years. I have 16 years’ experience in education and was previously Senior Deputy Headteacher in one of the largest schools in Europe. 


More To Explore

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.